MHADA Lottery 2021

MHADA – Maharashtra Housing and Area Development Authority, is a government-affiliated organization that develops housing schemes for aspirants. Every year they announce a scheme under which there are four categories. It was formed in December 1977 and has now split into three separate boards like Mumbai Housing and Area Development Board, Mumbai Building Repairs and Reconstruction Board, and Mumbai Slum Improvement Board.

Currently, MHADA controls about seven housing boards in Mumbai, Pune, Nashik, Konkan, Amravati, Nagpur, Aurangabad, and two special boards viz. Mumbai Building Repairs and Reconstruction Board and Mumbai Slum Improvement Board. The former “Bombay Housing Board” was formed in 1948 and had control over the entire Maharashtra state except for Vidarbha Region. The Vidarbha Housing Board was established in 1960 and they were offering advanced loans to the co-operative housing societies.

The MHADA lottery has been the backbone of this board for years now. Invariably the schemes of allotment of apartments are announced by MHADA. Now they have come up with the affordable housing scheme 2021, for the units around MMR (Mumbai Metropolitan Region). Under this new MHADA lottery scheme, around 7500 units will be made available in the areas like Thane, Vasai, and Navi Mumbai.  

The offer will be distributed under four categories like economically weaker sections, lower income group, middle-income group, and higher-income group. The aspirants can apply only online due to the Coronavirus pandemic criteria of social distancing. As per the media reports, the lottery draw will take place in May 2021. The announcement of the scheme has come up after more than a year now due to the pandemic situation and implementation of lockdown. 

The last time it was announced in June 2019, when around 217 units in different categories were offered in Mumbai. For the cities like Pune, Kolhapur, and Solapur, the MHADA lottery scheme was announced in December 2020. Following are the areas where the MHADA lottery will take place – 

Location Number of Units

Vartak Nagar 67

Thane City 821

Ghansoli 40

Bhandarli 1771

Ghoteghar 1185

Khoni 2016

Valiv 43

For those, who aspire to take the benefit of this scheme, MHADA has also released the guidelines of the criteria for eligibility, which are as follows – 

Eligibility for MHADA Lottery 2021

  • The minimum age of the applicant must be 18 years.

  • The applicant must produce a domicile certificate to prove that he/she has stayed in Maharashtra for the last 15 years.

  • Income proof for the financial year (average monthly income excluding reimbursable allowances like medical, laundry allowance, transport, etc)

  • Economically weaker section (EWS) – up to Rs 25000

  • Middle-income group (MIG) – Rs 50001 to Rs 75000

  • Lower-income group (LIG) – Rs 25001 to Rs 50000

  • High-income group (HIG) – Rs 75001 and above

  • The applicant must possess a PAN card.

MHADA has also listed the documents needed to apply for the lottery scheme. The following documents must be ready with the applicant –

Documents needed for MHADA Lottery 2021

  • PAN card

  • Aadhaar card

  • Canceled cheque

  • Domicile certificate

  • Driving License

  • Passport photos

  • Birth certificate

  • Applicant’s contact details

Since only online applications are accepted, one must have knowledge of basic things about the procedure of application. MHADA has also described

How the applicant can apply for the lottery eligibility

Step 1 – You must create an account and log on to the MHADA Lottery website

Step 2 – Register yourself on the portal. As mentioned above, you need to provide some information like name, PAN number, family income, date of birth, marital status, occupation, residential address, gender, mobile number, etc to create an ID. Since the mobile number will be a contact reference in the future, ensure it is a working number. 

Step 3 – Once Id (user name) is generated, login to fill an online application. You can select the MHADA lottery option where you can see the number of schemes available. Here, you need to provide information like reservation category, income group, personal details, and applicant type. Enter scheme code available in the brochure or annexure. The code indicates your preferred location. Enter the bank details and agree upon the undertaking. You have to mention your current residential address too. 

Step 4 – Once the application is completed, you need to pay fees online. The payment modes available are demand draft, RTGS, NEFT, debit card, or credit card. For paying online, you have to log in to your account and make a payment through one of the options mentioned there. You have to upload a canceled cheque along with this payment. 

If you want to pay through demand draft then you have to take a printout of the application form and submit it along with the demand draft in the bank designated on the MHADA website. You can keep the payment slip for future reference. 

You can check the previous winner’s list on the website usually, the lottery results are published with the names, scheme, and income group. 

Is there a refund policy for the MHADA lottery?

MHADA will refund the amount spent by the applicant within seven working days. By logging in to your account you can check the status of the result and refund on the MHADA website.

The list of MHADA lottery boards is also available on the website. Those are as follows – 

  • MHADA Mumbai Board Lottery 2021

  • MHADA Pune Board lottery scheme 2021

  • MHADA Konkan Board housing scheme

  • Amravati Board MHADA housing scheme

  • Nashik Board MHADA housing scheme

  • Nagpur Board MHADA housing scheme

  • MHADA Aurangabad Board housing scheme


MHADA decided to redevelop the affected 462 building in Mumbai but the work has not started for last more than 5 years though the developers have already possessed NOCs. The Authority has also taken up the slum redevelopment work from Bandra to Badhwar Park. The entire finance will be raised by auctioning the remaining area after the slum dwellers are accommodated in tenements. 

Owing to the delay in the redevelopment work through the Occupancy certificate, the developers will be paying a heavy fine. The developers, who failed to get the OC, will be charges per 250 sq meters. The developers who failed to get OC for the lottery scheme will face a fine per 500 sq meters.  


Who is eligible for the MHADA lottery?

Persons with the age of 18 years and domicile of Maharashtra are eligible for the MHADA lottery.

How to book an MHADA flat?

Refer to the website and choose your category of income. In that options fill in all the information required and upload documents and pay the fees.

Is there a first come first serve system in MHADA?

Yes, the applications will be shortlisted by verifying the eligibility and after that, there will be a system to locate the first applications to allot the flats.

Can we sell MHADA allotted flats?

Those who got a flat through the MHADA scheme can sell the flat only after 5 years of residing in the same flat.

Can I rent an MHADA flat?

Only after the NOC from MHADA and the levy settled based on income category, one can think of renting the flat on an 11 monthly contract.

Can an NRI apply for the MHADA flat?

Yes, as long as you have resided in Maharashtra for 15 years and have a domicile certificate anyone can apply.

How do I apply for the MHADA NOC online?

Visit the MHADA website and login to your account. In the ‘online application’ section you can apply for NOC online.