PRASAD Scheme (The Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive)


The Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive (PRASAD) scheme was launched in 2015 by the Union Ministry of Tourism. The scheme aims at developing the pilgrim sites across India for enhancing the religious tourism experience. Initially, 12 sites from different states of India were selected under the Prasad Scheme, but now 41 pilgrim sites from 25 states fall under this scheme. This scheme focuses on the rejuvenation of the pilgrim sites for giving the tourists a beautiful and peaceful experience. To know more about Prasad scheme, read the article till the end.



The Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive (PRASAD) scheme




Union Ministry of Tourism, Government of India


Launched on




Launched by 


Central Government 




Central Government Scheme


Number of sites




Total budget


700+ crores according to official report


Official website


The main objectives of Prasad Scheme are mentioned below:

  • Development of pilgrim sites in a planned, prioritized and sustainable manner to give the tourists enriched religious tourism experience,
  • Harnessing pilgrimage tourism for its direct and multiplier effect on economic and infrastructure development and employment generation,
  • To follow community-based development for the enhancement of the pilgrim sites,
  • To leverage public capital and expertise,
  • Developing infrastructure sustainably in the pilgrim sites for enhancing the beauty and attractiveness of the places for the tourists,
  • Making the local community aware of the benefits of tourism and the Prasad scheme. It will help to increase income, improve the standard of living and overall development;
  • To promote local culture, art, handicraft, cuisine, etc., to improve the livelihood of the people from those areas.

Infrastructural Development

The infrastructural development under the scheme are as follows:

  • Development of transportation facilities such as road, rail, water etc.,
  • Development of roads which leads to tourist sites,
  • Clean energy source will be used for street lighting.
  • Obtaining equipment for the eco-friendly mode of tourist transportation.
  • Improvement of landscapes, fountains, fencing, pavements, walkways, driveways, lighting, seating, drinking water, drainage, shelters, sewerage facilities etc.
  • External infrastructural development such as electricity, water supply, drainage, sewerage, roads etc.
  • Improving equipment for tourism activities such as water sports, adventure sports, sound and light shows etc.
  • Tourism Information Centres with ATM/exchange money counters. 
  • Development of rivers, lakes, streams, towers, shelters, trails etc. 
  • Infrastructural regulation for the stationing of the caravan.
  • Emergency amenities for vehicle breakdown, repairs etc.
  • Parking facilities will be made available for cars, two-wheelers, buses etc. 
  • Rejuvenation, restoration, illumination, beautification, conservation of monuments. 
  • Environmental development and clean technology.
  • Renewable energy for tourist infrastructure,
  • Improvement of toilets, waiting room and other facilities.
  • Construction of shops, restaurants, cafes, malls, theatres etc.
  • First aid centres.
  • Improvement in communication facilities such as mobile connectivity, internet network, wifi and hotspot, telephone booths etc.
  • Development of waterways, heliports, ropeways etc.


Under Prasad scheme, Central Financial Assistance (CFA) is provided by the Ministry of Tourism to State Government for promoting tourism at pilgrim sites. Under this scheme, the Central Government will provide 100% of funds. It also involves a Public-Private Partnership (PPP) and Corporate Social Responsibility (CSR) for improving sustainability. 

List of Cities

The statewise list of cities included under the Prasad Scheme by the Ministry of tourism are mentioned below.

  • Amaravati and Srisailam (Andhra Pradesh),
  • Kamakhya (Assam),
  • Parasuram Kund (Lohit District, Arunachal Pradesh),
  • Patna and Gaya (Bihar),
  • Balmeshwari Devi Temple (Rajnandgaon, Chhattisgarh),
  • Dwarka and Somnath (Gujarat),
  • Gurudwara Nada Saheb, Panchkula (Haryana),
  • Maa Chintpurni (Una, Himachal Pradesh),
  • Hazratbal and Katra (Jammu & Kashmir),
  • Deogarh and Parasnath (Jharkhand),
  • Chamundeshwari Devi, Mysuru (Karnataka),
  • Guruvayoor, St. Thomas International Shrine, (Malayattoor),
  • Cheraman Juma Mosque (Thrissur, Kerala),
  • Omkareshwar and Amarkantak (Madhya Pradesh),
  • Babedpara, West Jaintia Hills and Sohra (Meghalaya),
  • Aizwal (Mizoram),
  • Kohima and Mokokchung Districts (Nagaland),
  • Trimbakeshwar (Maharashtra),
  • Puri (Odisha),
  • Amritsar (Punjab),
  • Ajmer (Rajasthan),
  • Kanchipuram and Vellankani (Tamil Nadu),
  • Tripura Sundari (Tripura),
  • Varanasi and Mathura (Uttar Pradesh),
  • Badrinath, Kedarnath, Gangotri and Yamunotri (Uttarakhand) and
  • Belur (West Bengal)

Frequently Asked Questions

Q. What does PRASAD stands for?

PRASAD stands for Pilgrimage Rejuvenation and Spiritual Augmentation Drive.

Q. What is Prasad scheme?

This scheme aims at developing pilgrim sites to enrich religious tourism experience.

Q. Who introduced this scheme?

Union Ministry of Tourism introduced this scheme.

Q. How many sites fall under this scheme?

41 sites

Q. When was this scheme launched?

The scheme was launched in 2015.

Q. What is the official website for Prasad scheme?

The official website is

Q. How much fund is invested in this scheme by the Central Government?

The central government invests 100 crores under this scheme.

Q. Which pilgrim site from the state of Jharkhand has been recently included in the Prasad scheme?

Parasnath in Jharkhand is included under the Prasad scheme.

Q. What is the difference between Prasad Scheme and Swadesh Darshan Scheme?

Prasad scheme is for developing the pilgrim sites for better religious tourism experience whereas Swadesh Darshan scheme is for promoting, developing tourism in India.

Q. What is the difference between Prasad scheme and Hriday scheme?

Prasad scheme is for developing the pilgrim sites for better tourism experience whereas Hriday scheme is for economic growth and conservation of heritage for preserving the heritage cities.

Q. How many pilgrim sites in total are there under the Prasad Scheme recently?

Recently, 41 pilgrim sites are there under the scheme.

Q. Which pilgrim site from West Bengal is included under this scheme?

Belur from West Bengal is included under the scheme.

Q. Which pilgrim site from Maharashtra is included under this scheme?

Trimbakeshwar from Maharashtra is included under the scheme.

Q. How many pilgrim sites from Uttar Pradesh are included under this scheme?

Three pilgrim sites are included under this scheme from Uttar Pradesh – Mathura and Varanasi.

Q. Which pilgrim site from Jammu & Kashmir is included under this scheme?

Hazratbal and Katra in Jammu & Kashmir are included under this scheme.