Ews form online

EWS certificates are given to people who fall into the Economically Weaker Section (EWS) of society. EWS certificates are similar to income certificates and are not to be confused with caste certificates. 

A person will benefit from a 10% reservation for the EWS segment in government jobs and higher educational institutions across the country if they have an EWS certificate.

What is ews certificate?

Under the General category, EWS is a new reservation sub-category. It's a form of the reservation system that went into operation in 2019. The President of India endorsed the EWS bill on January 12th, 2019. Gujarat became the first state to pass this legislation on January 14, 2019.

Candidates must effectively produce a valid EWS certificate issued by the competent authority to assert the advantage of 10% EWS reservation in any government job or admission to higher education.

The EWS reservation scheme was developed to provide 10% reservation in direct recruitment to civil posts and services in the Government of India for people who fall into the EWS category and are not protected by any other reservation scheme such as SC, ST, or OBC. 

EWS certificate is a form of income and asset certificate that is granted to people who belong to the economically disadvantaged parts of society (EWS category under General category).

How to apply for ews certificate online

All qualified applicants are encouraged to apply online for the “EWS Certificate Application Form.” EWS Certificates were provided by various state governments through their official web portals. 

Candidates can fill out an online application form by entering their personal, financial, and other information, and then submitting it. 

The application form is generated automatically by the web portal, and after a verification process, your EWS Certificate is provided by the legal authority.

For states like Andhra Pradesh have an online portal where you can log in apply for ews certificate online. Other states have their official website. The procedure is mostly similar for all states.

Please note that you will have to visit your states official website to apply for ews certificate online.

Here we will take you step by step to apply for ews certificate online in Andhra Pradesh.

  • To begin, go to the official website of the AP Meeseva portal https://onlineap.meeseva.gov.in/. Following that, the website's homepage will appear in front of you. 

  • You must go to the "Revenue Department" portion of the website's homepage. 

  • A page titled "REVENUE DEPARTMENT SERVICES" will appear in front of you. You must choose the “INCOME CERTIFICATE” option here. 

  • In front of you will appear an application form. You must fill in all of the relevant information here. 

  • You must fill out the following details on this application form.

  • Applicant's name

  • Names of parents and husband

  • Aadhaar Number 

  • Year of birth

  • Gender 

  • Age of the Applicant

  • Also, you must include details about your earnings.

  • Click the "Display Payment" button after you've uploaded all of your documents to the specified site.

  • Fill in your credit card details and proceed to the payment steps.

  • Then, to confirm your order, click "Confirm Payment." Keep the receipt you got secure.

Eligibility criteria for ews certificate form

Check the eligibility criteria listed below to apply for the EWS Certificate and enjoy the benefits of the EWS reservation category.

General Category:

The applicant must fall into the General category. He is not allowed to have a caste certificate in his name.

EWS is only available to candidates in the General category.

Family Income: 

The candidate's annual family income must be less than Rs. 8 lakhs per year.

By "family income," we mean all of the family's sources of income, such as agriculture, private employment, business, salary, and so on.

Agricultural Land:

 Neither the candidate nor his family may own agricultural land with a total area of more than 5 acres.

If the candidate or his family owns agricultural land, it must be less than 5 acres in size to qualify for EWS benefits.

If the candidate does not meet this criterion, he will be disqualified from receiving reservation benefits.

Residential Property: 

If a candidate or his family owns a flat, it must be less than 100 square feet in size.

Residential Plot:

 The candidate's or his family's residential plot must be less than 100 square yards in size and located in a notified municipality sector.

The candidate's or his family's residential plot must be less than 200 square yards in size and located in a non-notified municipality sector.

To apply for an EWS Reservation Certificate and take advantage of its benefits, the candidate must meet all of the criteria listed above.

Definition of family for ews certificate

Please note that the definition of family used in the eligibility criteria should comply with the below-mentioned criteria:

Family of the applicant will only include his/her:

  • Parents 

  • Sibling below the age of 18 years

  • Spouse

  • Applicant’s children below the age of 18 years

Documents required for ews certificate application form

Applicants would need to apply certain documents to the EWS or Income Certificate application form. When you apply, you should have the following documents on hand.

  • Aadhar Card

  • Ration card copy

  • Voter ID Card

  • Residential certificate

  • Passport size photograph

  • All educational records

  • Certificate issued by two different Gazette officers

  • There is a court stamp fee of 2 / – with the application form duly filled.

  • Non-judicial paper declaration of Rs.10 / – as per Government Order (GO) 1551 and Income Tax Return Payment (if any)

Question and answers

What is the EWS certificate's validity?

The validity of this certificate is 1 year from the date of issue of the income certificate.

Is it possible to apply for an EWS certificate if you are from the OBC, ST, or SC categories?

No, this programme was created solely to help those who fall into the general category. It does not apply to OBC, ST, or SC people.

What is EWS category full form?

Section with the Lowest Economic Impact

What is the cost of obtaining this certificate?

In most cases, the applicant must pay a fee of Rs 10 and a fee of Rs 15 when applying at a MeeSeva Centre.